1958

LES ORIGINES

L’édifice fut conçu et réalisé à l’occasion de l’Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles (1958), dont il était le bâtiment phare et l’emblème. Avec pour slogan bilan d’un monde, pour un monde plus humain, l’Expo 58 se voulait être l’expression de la volonté démocratique d’entretenir la paix entre toutes les nations, de la foi dans le progrès aussi bien technique que scientifique et, enfin, d’une vision optimiste dans l’avenir d’un monde neuf, moderne et hyper-technologique qui devrait permettre aux hommes de vivre mieux.

C’est donc cette vision de l’utilisation pacifique de l’énergie atomique à des fins scientifiques qui a déterminé la conception et la construction de l’Atomium.


1958-2018

DU SYMBOLE A L’ICONE

L’Atomium n’était pas destinée à survivre au-delà de l’Exposition Universelle de 1958. Cependant, à l’aube des années 2000, la singularité et le caractère hautement symbolique de l’édifice font qu’une restauration majeure est entreprise.

Depuis sa réouverture et la mise en place d’un nouveau projet touristique et culturel [2006] : celle que beaucoup n’hésite pas à surnommer le plus belge des monuments a retrouvé non seulement sa place de symbole et d’icône internationale, mais est également devenue l’attraction la plus populaire de la Capitale de l’Europe.

L’ATOMIUM
AUJOURD’HUI


En plus d’être l’attraction la plus populaire de la capitale et d’offrir la plus belle vue sur la ville de Bruxelles, l’Atomium offre de l’intérieur, une balade surréaliste à travers des espaces et des volumes tout à fait surprenants qui, à eux seul, méritent le détour.

13.01 > 19.01.2020 [included]: due to the annual maintenance of the elevator, the upper sphere [panorama & restaurant] is not accessible, but the four other spheres [6 levels] remain accessible and the entrance fees will be adapted during this period.

20.01
> 24.01.2020 [included]: due to the annual maintenance, the Atomium is closed.
1958

THE ORIGINS

The building was designed and built for the Brussels World's Fair (1958), for which it was the flagship building and emblem. With the slogan a world for a better life for mankind, Expo 58 wanted to be an expression of the democratic will to maintain peace among all nations, of faith in both technical and scientific progress and, finally, an optimistic vision of the future of the new, modern and hyper-technological world that should enable mankind to live better lives.

It was thus this vision of the peaceful use of atomic energy for scientific purposes that determined the design and construction of the Atomium.


1958-2018

FROM SYMBOL TO ICON

The Atomium was not intended to survive beyond the 1958 World's Fair. However, at the dawn of the 2000s, the uniqueness and highly symbolic character of the building resulted in a major restoration.

Since its reopening and the introduction of a new cultural and tourism project [2006]: one that many do not hesitate to call the most Belgian of monuments not only rediscovered its place as an international symbol and icon but also became the most popular attraction in the Capital of Europe.

THE ATOMIUM
TODAY


In addition to being the most popular attraction in the capital and providing the most magnificent view of the city of Brussels, the Atomium offers an entirely astounding and surreal ride through its interior spaces and volumes which alone makes a visit worth it.