Copyright

 

 

The image of the Atomium is protected and can only be used under certain conditions.

 

The image of the Atomium, which has considerable symbolic value, was formerly protected by its creator, the late engineer André Waterkeyn. The not-for-profit organisation Atomium asbl aims to ensure that this image is not misrepresented, distorted or used in a negative context. 
 
The rights to use images of the Atomium are managed by SABAM and by Atomium asbl, as appointed by André Waterkeyn and subsequently by his trustees. Any usage of the image of the Atomium must therefore be submitted for approval to Atomium asbl prior to publication. 
 
André Waterkeyn died in 2005. In accordance with the legislation whereby a work is protected for a period of 70 years after the demise of its creator, the image of the Atomium is protected by copyright until 2075.
 
Any individual may use the image of the Atomium; a request for authorisation must firstly be submitted to Atomium asbl or to SABAM, and the image must meet the following conditions : 
 
  • the image of the Atomium is not to be used in a negative context (in relation to racist or anti-democratic slogans, and so on).
  • the image of the Atomium is not to be misrepresented, distorted or inappropriately used (for example, it may not be shown being destroyed in an explosion). 
 
A copyright fee is payable when the image of the Atomium is reproduced, the amount depending on the particular usage made. These charges may be found on the SABAM website.
 

Atomium asbl allows the image of the Atomium to be used free of charge in certain cases:
  • for events organised by the City of Brussels and the Brussels-Capital Region in order to promote tourism in the capital
  • for use in tourist publications (guidebooks)
 
However, this free usage is dependent on certain specific conditions, as is also the case with paid usage:
  • permission must be sought in advance
  • the request must be comprehensive; in other words, the following information must be included:
information relating to the project (purpose of use)
type of medium to be used
details of print-run or circulation
project layout 
  • the quality of the image must be approved by Atomium asbl
  • the copyright notice must be included 
  • copies of the image in the medium required must be sent to Atomium asbl
 
These conditions must be strictly adhered to. If it appears that this is not the case, the copyright fee will be charged by SABAM.
 
***
 
The issue of Freedom of Panorama has also recently arisen: what is Freedom of Panorama?
 
According to the principle of Freedom of Panorama, it is possible to take and circulate photos of three-dimensional works that are protected by copyright laws (particularly sculptures and buildings) and are permanently on view in public places, without applying to the trustees for permission to do so. 
 
Freedom of Panorama has been introduced into Belgian copyright law and took effect on 15 July 2016.
 
A new exception has been introduced into the Code of Economic Law, which includes copyright legislation. It stipulates that the reproduction and communication to the public of any example of the plastic, graphic or architectural arts designed to stand permanently in a public space, cannot be prohibited by its creator, provided that the reproduction or communication does not conflict with normal exploitation of the work in question, and does not cause undue prejudice to the legitimate interests of its creator (art. XI.190, 2/1°). 
 
Anyone seeking to invoke the Freedom of Panorama exception must meet the conditions set out in this article, which must be strictly adhered to.
 
The following uses are not covered by Freedom of Panorama, and therefore require prior permission:
  • any usage of a commercial nature, or involving advertising 
  • drawings, paintings and other graphic adaptations or arrangements of the original work, in cases when the work reproduced or communicated to the public no longer appears as it is seen in the public domain
 
What does this mean for the Atomium in practical terms? 
In practice, little has changed. This new exception to the law provides guidelines for a situation that required clarification, that is, cases when photos of the Atomium are taken by private individuals who then post these images on private websites, social media sites or blogs, for non-commercial purposes. Atomium asbl had already been applying the principle of Freedom of Panorama for some time, and it is now recognized by the law.
 
Photos of the Atomium used for commercial purposes or for advertising, together with images of the Atomium that have been altered and placed in a different context, remain subject to prior authorisation from Atomium asbl, and to the payment of copyright fees to SABAM.
 
For any further information: inge vaneycken atomium be and sven deruyver sabam be.
 
NL . FR . EN

Droits d'auteur

 

 

L'image de l'Atomium est protégée et ne peut être utilisée qu'à certaines conditions.

 

L’image de l’Atomium fut en son temps protégée par son concepteur, feu André Waterkeyn, et a une grande valeur symbolique. L’asbl Atomium veille à ce que cette image ne soit pas faussée, déformée ou utilisée dans un contexte négatif.
 
Les droits sont gérés par la SABAM et par l’asbl Atomium, qui ont été désignées à cet effet par André Waterkeyn et par le suite par ses ayants droit. Toute utilisation de l’image de l’Atomium doit pour cette raison être soumise avant publication à l’asbl Atomium.
 
André Waterkeyn est décédé en 2005. Conformément à la législation qui prévoit une durée de protection de 70 années après la mort du créateur de l’œuvre, l’image de l’Atomium est donc  encore protégée par le droit d’auteur jusqu’en 2075. 
 
Tout un chacun peut utiliser l’image de l’Atomium moyennant une demande préalable  d’autorisation à l’asbl Atomium ou à la SABAM et à condition que le but ne soit pas :
  • d’utiliser l’image de l’Atomium dans un contexte négatif (slogans racistes, antidémocratiques, etc.)
  • de fausser, déformer ou utiliser à mauvais escient l’image de l’Atomium (par ex. un dessin dans lequel on ferait exploser l’Atomium)
 
Pour la reproduction de l’image de l’Atomium, des droits d’auteur sont dus, pour lesquels des tarifs spécifiques s’appliquent selon l’utilisation faite. Ces tarifs peuvent être consultés sur le site web de la SABAM.

Dans certains cas, l’asbl Atomium permet gratuitement l’utilisation de l’image de l’Atomium :

  • utilisation pour des événements organisés par la Ville et la Région de Bruxelles afin de promouvoir le tourisme à Bruxelles
  • utilisation à des fins touristiques (guides)
 
Cette utilisation gratuite est cependant assortie, tout comme ceci est le cas pour les reproductions payantes, de conditions spécifiques :
  • L’autorisation doit être demandée au préalable
  • La demande doit être exhaustive, c.-à-d. que les informations suivantes doivent être communiquées :
informations relatives au projet (objet de l’utilisation)
type de support
tirage par support
lay-out du projet
  • La qualité de l’image doit être approuvée par l’asbl Atomium 
  • Le copyright communiqué doit être mentionné
  • L’envoi des exemplaires demandés du support à l’asbl Atomium

 

Ces conditions doivent être respectées de manière stricte. S’il apparaît que tel n’est pas le cas, des droits d’auteur seront facturés par la SABAM.

 

***

 

Depuis peu, il est également question d’une liberté de panorama : qu’est-ce que la liberté de panorama ?
 
Par liberté de panorama, il faut comprendre que des photos d’œuvres tridimensionnelles protégées par le droit d’auteur (surtout des sculptures et des bâtiments), qui se  trouvent de façon permanente dans des lieux publics, peuvent être prises et diffusées sans que l’autorisation de l’ayant droit soit requise.
 
Dans le Code de Droit économique qui contient la législation sur le droit d’auteur, une nouvelle exception  a été introduite  en vertu de laquelle, l’auteur ne peut interdire la reproduction et la communication au public d’œuvres d’art plastique, graphique ou architectural destinées à être placées de façon permanente dans des lieux publics, pour autant qu’il s’agisse de la reproduction ou de la communication de l’œuvre telle qu’elle s’y trouve et que cette reproduction ne porte pas atteinte à l’exploitation normale de l’œuvre ni ne cause un préjudice injustifié aux intérêts légitimes de l’auteur (art. XI.190, 2/1°). 
 
Afin de pouvoir invoquer l’exception de la liberté de panorama, les conditions reprises dans cet article doivent donc être rencontrées, lesquelles doivent de surcroît être interprétées de manière stricte.
 
Concrètement, les utilisations suivantes ne relèvent  pas de l’exception de la liberté de panorama et nécessiteront par conséquent l’obtention d’une autorisation préalable :
  • pour toute utilisation de nature commerciale ou publicitaire
  • pour les dessins, peintures et autres arrangements ou adaptations graphiques de l’œuvre originale, dès lors qu’il n’est plus question dans ces cas d’une reproduction ou d’une communication publique de l’œuvre telle qu’elle se trouve dans le domaine public.

 

Qu’est-ce que ceci signifie concrètement pour l’Atomium ?
En réalité, il n’y a pas grand-chose qui change dans la pratique. Cette nouvelle exception règle une situation qui n’était pas claire, à savoir la prise de photos de l’Atomium par des particuliers qui placent ensuite ces photos sur des sites web privés, des réseaux sociaux et blogs sans but lucratif. L’asbl Atomium appliquait de fait  depuis longtemps  déjà la liberté de panorama qui est aujourd’hui reconnue dans la loi.
 
Les utilisations commerciales et publicitaires de photos de l’Atomium, ainsi que le fait de modifier des images de l’Atomium et de placer ces images dans un autre contexte, restent comme autrefois soumis à l’autorisation légale préalable de l’asbl Atomium et au paiement des droits d’auteur dus à la SABAM.

 

Pour tout renseignement supplémentaire : inge vaneycken atomium be et sven deruyver sabam be

 

 
NL . FR . EN